Return to: Clickable Provincial Map
prov map

Chongqing Municipality (550000)

Provincial Capital

Chongqing City

Provincial Pop (1997)

30.42 million

GDP (yuan, 1997)

137.50 billion

Chongqing (550000?) is a new Municipality with provincial-level status, established in 1996.

It consists of what were the three eastern/southeastern prefectures of Sichuan Province: Wanxian Diqu, Qianjiang Diqu, Fuling Diqu and the prefectural-level municipality of Chongqing Shi.

Chongqing was the largest city in Sichuan Province and a huge industrial centre, and its municipality now has provincial-level status (the same status as Beijing, Tianjin, and Shanghai).

... more to come ...

Material planned for each provincial page includes:

Return to: Clickable Provincial Map

Page first prepared by Dr. Stephen Morgan,
Department of Management, University of Melbourne,
for use on his China subject page.
Created: 20 July 1998. Last modified: 20 August 1998
Access: No restriction. Copyright © 1998, The University of Melbourne.
Modified by Lawrence Crissman, Director of ACASIAN, 5 September, 1998.